Scribbles

When life gives you lemons, make grape juice and let the world wonder how you did it.

Welcome Week @ McMaster

Currently listening to: How to Fly – Arashi
Feeling:
AHHHHHHHH. Well I really should be reading my bio and chem notes before going to my lectures, but I still have a few hours so…UGH my laptop is annoying me cuz I can’t type my usual warp speed cuz the keys are stupid. Yeah. Ok. So WELCOME WEEK AT MCMASTER UNIVERSITY XD Ok, LONG BLOG AHEAD, I SUGGEST YOU ALL READ THIS WHEN YOU HAVE LIKE 297468276 HOURS OF SPARE TIME.
Sunday, August 31, 2008
I woke up early to pack my things. Yeah I know, I should have packed the night before, I sorta did, but I stuffed everything into their appropriate places today. AHA. Ok, so I arrived at McMaster pretty early, I think I was one of the earliest. Anyway, it took my parents a while to find the road that leads into the residence area, so yeah. Ok, so I arrive and what not, my rez is called Wallingford Hall, and my car gets like raped by all the welcoming people, also known as the reps of my dorm. So I was in my car, about to get out, and this plethora of girls (Wally is an all girls residence) comes up to my car and like, does some tribal dance around it…they were cheering and telling me to get out and stuff, and I was sorta freaked out cuz someone tried to open my door haha. Anyway, I got out and they were all really nice, and helped me carry my stuff, even making labels for me and what not, since I forgot to label everything, and even forgot my room number. But they figured all that out for me so everything was great. I had to leave my pink Hello Kitty microwave in my car though, since I’m not allowed to bring one…which I never knew. OH WELL. So yeah. I go up to my room and wow, it was old and dusty and, well, pretty big. I figured it would be big since it was a quad room, but still. My parents helped me unpack everything, and my mom practically cleaned the entire area for me cuz it was dusty. Ok, so then one of roomies arrive, and I help her hang her clothes up. YAY FOR BEING HELPFUL XD. Ok, then I called Amy and warned her of her impending doom of tribal ceremonies and everything was all good. Amy soon arrived with her family, and everything was settled. We moved a bit of the furniture around to make more space. We pushed our beds together too, so now it’s like a queen sized bed XD WOO. The last of my roomies came really late, but we helped her move stuff around too, like her fridge. Yay, we have two fridges, since Amy brought one as well. Ok, so then Amy and I decided to claim our “Mac Passes”, and we got a WHOLE BUNCH OF FREE STUFF HOLY CRAP WHAT IS WITH THIS SCHOOL AND FREE STUFF. I swear I had like a suitcase of free stuff by the end of Thursday, but more on that later. Ok, so I treated my parents to hotdogs, and HOLY FRIG THEY ARE 4 DOLLARS FOR A HOTDOG WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAT. Ok, so then my parents left. And we all got our free stuff, and our residence shirts, (our shirt is aqua/turquoise and it has a picture of a necklace at the front with the letters WH on it, and apparently, my shirt was missing the slogan on the back but oh well, and also our FACULTY OF SCIENCE SHIRTS HAHA, THEY ARE NICEEEEEE. And big. Then we met with the other people of our residence, and there weren’t many of them cuz our residence houses 76 females max. Which is good ^_^ So we did a couple of cheers, and boy are there a lot. We have cheers for our rez, specific cheers to say when certain residences greet us, and even cheers for what floor you’re on in residence. Oh there are more cheers, but I’ll get to that later. So yeah, after that, we all went to MAC CONNECTION, WHERE ALL THE FIRST YEARS GATHERED ON THAT HUGEEEEE STADIUM AND PLAYED GAMES HAHA, OH MANNNN WE PLAYED SO MANY GAMES, AND DID SOOOO MANY CHEERS AND JUST HAD FUN. Yeah. It was crazzzzy, so much energy and spirit yeppers. Ok, so man I have no idea how long that went on for, but I was real sweaty by the end of it, so we all went back to our residence and that was where I made my first discovery of how wonderful Wallingford Hall is. THERE IS A BABY GRAND PIANO IN OUR TEA ROOM, AKA OUR COMMON ROOM XD WHEEEE, Amy and I took turns playing on it hehe, it was fun. Ok, so it’s late, and we had another floor meeting, and we had more ice-breakers and what not in the comfort of our residence, and then went to sleep. It was hard for me to sleep cuz Wallingford is one of the oldest buildings on campus, so there is no AC. I KNOW HOW MASSU FEELS NOW T-T Ok. So I didn’t get much sleep, but we were all woken up early for more fun on Monday.
Monday, September 1, 2008
We all woke up early for BED RACES. That just about speaks for itself. A person is on a mattress on wheels. And 4 people push the “vehicle”. And you race. Wally lost badddddly man, one of our wheels went weird, but man, gotta tell you the wonderful lunch I ate with Amy before the bed races. Ok, so there’s this REALLY NICE RESTAURANT ON CAMPUS CALLED BISTRO, AND OMGGGG THE FOOD THERE IS SOOOO GOOD. Amy and I wanted to share something together, so we asked the dude with the card swipper thing aka the cashier how big the chicken teriyaki was. And he made a small gesture with his hand and said “Oh, about this big”, and Amy and I were like, oh man, that’s tiiiiny, but w/e. So the meal was 10 bucks. Yeah 10 bucks, for what we thought was a tiny bowl of chicken teriyaki. So then we went to get our order. HOLY FRIG, THE DISH WAS GINOURMOUS, OH MANNNNNNNNNN, AMY AND I BOTH STUFFED OUR FACES AND WE COULDN’T FINISH IT. We eventually did though, through much persuasion from each other, but oh man, we were soooo full it wasn’t even funny. Ok. Back to bed races. Well, I really don’t know much about what happened, because after 2 hours of trial races, and the actual race not happening anytime soon, and almost dehydrating, and lots of face painting and cheering and booing, Amy and I decided to just go back to our rez and shower and rest. Yeah. So we did just that. Nice long shower. Missed the actual race cuz we treasured being cool and hydrated more. Oh wait, I forgot to mention Amy and I raided Natasha and Angela’s residence, Lez Prince. Their rez is suite style, very nice and clean, hehe. AND THEY HAVE AC. Anyway, we decided to have dinner together at BISTRO AGAIN HAHAHA OH MAN. And yeah, ate the same thing. Ok yeah. Then Amy and I went back to our rez, and we had a karaoke meeting, cuz we joined the karaoke activity, yepyep, and we practiced yay. We were singing 2 songs, I think it was…some song by Maroon 5 and Rihanna, then a song by the Pussycat Dolls >_> Oh well, w/e, we made dance moves too yay. So yeah, the karaoke competition would be on Wednesday hehe, again, many of my friends, and gave them a tour of my room and what not. Yeah.
Tuesday, September 2, 2008
FACULTY DAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY WOO, WHERE WE ALL GO TO OUR FACULTIES WEARING OUR FACULTY SHIRTS AND YAY. Ok, so Amy and I are both in the Faculty of Science, so we were able to find our way somehow. We learned soooo many more cheers oh man, something about sin, sin, cosine sin, 3.14159, yeah, and something about equilibrium, and even exothermic hot and stuff. Yeah those were all cheers, there were soooooo many ahhh. Ok. Then we were split off into teams within our science faculty, and each team was the name of an element. I was in team Fluorine, and Amy was in team Neon. We then learned more cheers for our element haha. I remember one of Fluorine’s cheers were “WE’RE TOUGH. WE’RE MEAN. WE KEEP YOUR TEETH CLEAN”. Yeah, it was nice and funny haha, and we had cheers to make fun of other elements too haha, but I forgot. Anyway, we then went to different activity stations, like Twister, tug-o-war, throwing marshmallows with chocolate into our leaders’ mouths, a cheer-off, and yeah. Nice day, got to meet people in the same faculty as me, haha, but not many people were in the same program as me. There were sooooo many people in Life Sciences, AND ENGINEERING AHHHH, AND MEDICAL RADIATION AHHH. Wow I feel so dumb. HAHA, but I like being in Environmental and Earth Sciences ^^ Ok, so yeah, we got more free stuff, and had a free lunch consisting of Subway and pop, and then we were allowed to meet our profs, but they were being mobbed, so I found Amy, and with some other people, we decided to sneak out haha. And we did. Anyway, after that, we all went our own ways, and apparently there was going to be some concert with some band and what not, but Amy and I decided to just stay inside our rez, and LISTENED TO NEWS GOODNESS YAYYYYYYYYYY. Man that concert was loudddddd…maybe cuz it happened RIGHT OUTSIDE WALLINGFORD HALL. HMMMM. Ok.
Wednesday, September 3, 2008
PANCAKE BREAKFAST. Aww, our residence leaders were so nice, they got up early and made everyone pancakes for breakast yepyep. I kinda felt sick afterwards though, maybe cuz I normally don’t eat breakfast. Ok. So then, our residence all went to the Air Bands activity/competition, and I still don’t know what it is. Some kinda talent show thing, for all I know. And Wally cheered sooooo hard, and we were LOUD, cuz man, there are only like…50 of us, versus the 200 other first years in larger residence buildings. BUT WE WERE JUST AS LOUD MUAHAHA. But we didn’t win. Oh well. Our group did good though, ok I know most of you must be really confused, but w/e. Air Bands was just some talent show thing, and each rez had a representing group that you can sign up for and have been practicing since Monday or w/e to perform. I joined karaoke instead of Air Bands, AND KARAOKE WOULD BE AT NIGHT, SO MORE PRACTICE TIME MUAHAHAH. Anyway, I got tanned really bad since I was out in the sun for like 2 hours, and I don’t use sunblock either…SO I LOOK NICE AND TOASTED YUM. Ok, so then after the competition, AMY AND I WENT TO CLUB FEST WOOOOOO, AKA THE EVENT WHEN ALL THE CLUBS BRING OUT A BULLETIN BOARD WITH INFO ABOUT THEIR CLUB ON IT AND PROP IT ONTO A PROVIDED TABLE AND THEY TRY TO PERSUADE YOU TO JOIN THEIR CLUB BY GIVING YOU FREE STUFF WOO. I got lots of stuff here, but I could have gotten more, just that Amy and I couldn’t stay long cuz we had a karaoke practice. I joined the anime club and Japanese club ^_^ I was thinking about joining choir too, since it counts as a music credit or something, but w/e. OK, SO KARAOKE. Our group practiced a lot for the competition later tonight, we all sweated and laughed and tried to remember all the choreography and yeah. Was great. SO THEN KARAOKE CAME, AND IT WAS NIGHT TIME AND IT WAS STILL HOT, AND WE ALL MADE OUR WAY TO THE UM… forgot the building, but it was big and yeah. We danced more than we sang haha, well, Amy and I didn’t memorize the words, cuz we’re not that good with memorizing English songs as opposed to JAPANESE, but we had fun none-the-less. SO MANY RESIDENCES SANG POKEMON WTH HAHA, SOME GUY DRESSED UP AS JIGGLYPUFF, IN A PINK JUMPER SUIT AND STARTED SINGING THE JIGGLYPUFF SONG. Yeah ok, karaoke was nice, cuz EVERYONE practically knew the songs being sung, and all sung together and was nice. Yeah. Wally didn’t win again. Oh well. It’s ok haha XD So yeah…Amy and I raced back to the dorms before everyone else when karaoke was over to claim the only 2 baths XD Cuz we don’t like the showers O_o Ok, so yeah, still hot and sweaty, but in the middle of the night, it was cold, so I kept putting my blankets on, and then taking them off and ughhh, annoyed me.
Thursday, September 4, 2008
FIRST DAY OF CLASS. WELL WE DIDN’T HAVE TO ATTEND OUR LABS AND TUTORIALS, SO AT LEAST THAT’S A RELIEF. I HAD MATH, THEN I HAD ENVI WITH AMY, AND THEN CHEM AND BIO, AND YEAH, I WAS SOOOO SLEEPY BECAUSE I’M STILL NOT IN SCHOOL MODE, AND HOLY SCREW I’M SCREWED FOR MATH AND CHEM. Oh in chem, the prof exploded balloons, it was cool haha, cuz each one was filled with a different gas and yeah, she wanted us to put them in order of explosion size yeah. BUT IT WAS SO DANGEROUS HOLY SCREW…FIRE!!! Yeah, but nothing bad happened. OK, SO THURSDAY NIGHT, AMY AND I FOUND OUT WE COULD GO BACK TO TORONTO, SINCE SHE DOESN’T HAVE CLASSES ON FRIDAYS, AND I ONLY HAD LABS AND TUTORIALS ON FRIDAY, SO WE BOUGHT TICKETS AND WENT ON THE GO BUS AND WENT HOME YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY. We missed faculty night, and some other events, but w/e haha.
The end.
3 Comments»

  Whitney wrote @

HOLY CRAAAP FUSHIII!!! I know u told me half of the stuff that u put in this blog when we were chatting that week… BUT STILL! HAHAHA. Your frosh week had soo many cooler activities than mine! HAHAHA and u guys are sooo much more spirited!! And OMG ur karaoke nite!!! YOU GUYS SANG PUSSYCAT DOLLS? OMGG U SHOULDA TOLD MEEEE HAHAHHA I LOVE THEM! They have the best music for dancing to, so I bet u guys came up with something wicked =D And rihanna and maroon 5 are hot too! OMG SO LUCKY!
I wish we had english karaoke T________T boohoo!!!! AND OMG LOL. WE HAVE THE SAME CHEER AS U IN THE MATH FACULTY! The sine sine cosine one ROFLMAOOOO!!! That’s the only one i remember from the Math ppl cuz it’s so easy and lame and funnie. Our engineering cheer is like long as hell and w/e… not cool. LOL. But i’m glad u had sooo much fun and got soo many freebies for frosh! Hope ur classes are going well rite now and hope we get to meet up again soooon! Sticker pics with u was super awesome fuun and we should do that again sometime! I’m gonna miss u T__T work is no fun at alll compared to school cuz it’s like 8 hours of doing non-fun stuff T___T. I hope that I can come in and visit you sometime! We’ll see, maybe i can follow u back in next time u come back to toronto. =D then i can come visit and come back with ur parents if i dun have time to stay over. But yea! Enjoy ur
first term at McMaser! And thanks for all the NEWS goodness! LOVE THEIR NEW SONG!!!!!
 
<3 AngeL*

  Sachie wrote @

YAY READING THIS THREE YEARS LATER, preparing myself for uni :D
Welcome week sounds fun haha!

  blobsofdoom wrote @

HAHAHA, I hope you found it somewhat enjoyable haha! It’s so random and all over the place XD!


Leave a Reply

